Massage Therapist

A Massage therapist license is required of any person performing massage therapy, who has received a massage degree or certificate from an accredited institution.  An accredited institution is an educational institution holding accredited status with the United States Department of Education or Minnesota Office of Higher Education.  Proof that 500 hours of certified therapeutic massage training has been obtained - in the form of a certified transcript - must be submitted at the time of application
 
Exempt from licensure are massage therapists that works for, or is an employee of, a licensed medical (or dental) professional.  
 

Code Requirements


Guidance relating to Massage and Massage Therapists is contained in the Maplewood City Code, Chapter 14, Article XX.
All license holders are required to be familiar with the provisions of this Chapter and with applicable Minnesota Statutes and federal regulations.
 

Application Requirements

  • Massage Therapist license application
  • License Fee 
  • Background Investigation fee
  • Certified copy of diploma or certificate of graduation from an accredited institution
  • Certificate of graduation and certified transcript from an accredited institution
  • A front-face photograph of the applicant, no less that 2 ½” by 2 ½” in size, and taken within the past 30 days

Expiration/Renewal


License term(s) run September 1 through August 31, annually.  Renewal must occur on or before date of expiration.